Facebook sent me this when I deleted the account:
We have received a request to permanently delete your account. Your account has been deactivated from the site and will be permanently deleted within 14 days.
If you did not request to permanently delete your account, follow this link to cancel this request:
The Facebook Team
14 days?! WTF? Also if I log back in during that period they assume I don’t want the account deleted and cancel it. So basically they are making it really easy for people to undelete the account – but there should be an immediate deletion option.