Member Journal — 10/14/19

That thing where people stereotype developers really hard, and usually not accurately. And other stuff too.

Hi, and welcome to another week, and another round of things you scratch your head about, including but not limited to: being alone, making my life less easy, the weather, watches, and details on an upcoming giveaway.

You must be a member to read the rest of this article.

Published
  • Nezumi Loews

    A fantastic, no-fuss, weekend watch.

    Recently, I picked up this watch to be my casual and weekend wear. I wanted something unique looking, with a tachymetre on it. Nezumi is a brand I have seen for a while and their designs are top notch, so I decided on the Loews model after a lot of back and forth.

    Continue reading: Nezumi Loews

    Published
  • Member Journal — 10/7/19

    Let’s talk about Apple Maps and why with ‘one weird trick’ they could actually compete against Google Maps.

    This week: a look at what is better about Apple Maps, and where it still falls down; Texas’ Postmates; small screen computing; Microsoft’s Duo; and sleep science.

    Apple Maps Updates

    Apple’s mapping software was been in the spotlight the last week, with updates to the NE section of the US following a series of updates to various other coastal areas of the US. Which brings us to two articles, the first:

    Apple Maps is better than Google Maps? In this post Jason Aten argues that Apple is on the path to take down Google Maps. Aten concludes by saying Apple Maps is now a ‘worthy contender’ and in a lot of ways he is right. Which brings us to the next post:

    You must be a member to read the rest of this article.

    Published
  • Member Journal — 9/30/19

    Let’s talk about a iPhone, iPadOS, and blocking podcast ads.

    This week: $5 off, podcast ad blocker that all apps should use, where we are with iPhone, iPhone 11 Pro briefly, and iPadOS notes.

    A Podcast and Radio Ad Blocker

    Oh wow, this is great. It is an ad blocker for podcasts and radio, which uses some audio like matching stuff to snuff out ads in audio. That’s pretty amazing.

    Now we will see who owns the podcasting apps. And I am not really joking, because this is a great feature and something every podcast app should implement, except if like the owners of the app make money from podcasting, right?

    You must be a member to read the rest of this article.

    Published
  • A Few Really Good Things

    These are the items worthy of your hard earned money.

    We are coming up on the part of the year where things get a little hectic for me — I don’t know why, but this is the trend. And thus I tend to not really get a bunch of new stuff to review and test during the last few months of the year. Who knows if this year is different, but now seems like a good time to write this post.

    It’s time to point out a few really good things I have come across in my time writing this site (9.5 years for those wondering). Things which you can spend your money on without worry, and know that it’s good, will last, and worth every penny.

    These are the items I feel confident fully endorsing the ever loving crap out of.

    Continue reading: A Few Really Good Things

    Published
  • Member Journal — 9/23/19

    Imelda forced me to use government tools and then i realized they are pretty accurate. Huh.

    This week: how I dealt with a natural disaster without social media; USB-C Pro; I comment on a few of anti-office and hipster articles; where to park; and Usain Bolt.

    You must be a member to read the rest of this article.

    Published
  • Member Journal — 9/16/19

    That thing where I again tell people it is insanity to live in Silicon Valley/SF.

    This week: things about being back in an office, Dan Cooper, immortal savings, making $350k and middle class, and lastly what does it mean to have an MDM device.

    You must be a member to read the rest of this article.

    Published
  • Stuart & Lau Cary vs Filson Original Briefcase

    The whole patina thing, and why I choose a lesser bag.

    When I initially reviewed the Stuart & Lau Cary briefcase, I mentioned how it was, in a lot of ways, a modern take on the classic Filson Original Briefcase. Modern materials, layout and everything else.

    As time has worn on I have come to the conclusion that the Cary is better, but the Filson has my heart.

    Continue reading: Stuart & Lau Cary vs Filson Original Briefcase

    Published
  • Member Journal — 9/9/19

    That thing when you don’t know how to remote work so you turn to me for the stuff people don’t wan to talk about…

    This week: a smattering of thoughts on the parts of remote work no one talks about, screen time usefulness, iPadOS gestures, coincidences, and my pitch for you to wear better pants.

    You must be a member to read the rest of this article.

    Published
  • Spinnaker Fleuss

    A really great value for a casual watch with a waterproof leather strap.

    I picked this watch up on Reddit for a really low price, and decided to give it a whirl as my go to weekend watch. I’ve had it I for about a month, and am moving on, but not because of any flaws with the watch itself. It’s pretty neat, and a heck of a deal.

    Continue reading: Spinnaker Fleuss

    Published
  • Armida A6

    A really nice Explorer homage, which comes tantalizingly close to being my everyday watch.

    I have been looking for a watch to compliment my others — something to wear 95% of the time from office to home. Simple, versatile, and basically what is referred to as a ‘tool watch’ — I always wanted to stay under $700. So I ended up getting this Armida A6, an homage to the Rolex Explorer which is currently very popular. The watch is fantastic, but it’s its own thing and ultimately, sadly, it doesn’t fit the bill for what I want.

    Continue reading: Armida A6

    Published
  • Member Journal — 9/2/19

    In mildly interesting items from this past week, we shall explore many thoughts on iPads today.

    This week: full iPad segregation, self-improvement the glorified hobby, Speedmaster wearers amirite, iconic watches, and Justin Blanton is blogging again.

    You must be a member to read the rest of this article.

    Published
  • Benchmade Mini-Griptillian

    Perhaps the best knife option if you oddly only want to own one knife.

    I’ve been needing to review this knife for a while. This is especially bad since I love Benchmade knifes and think they are one of the best knife companies out there — eat your hearts out Spyderco fans, Benchmade is superior. I’ll give you a simple reason: most Benchmade knives are ambidextrous, most Spyderco knives are made for right handed people.

    Anyways, the ‘mini-grip’ as it is known is often heralded as one of the better, if not best, everyday carry knife options out there. It’s versatile, inexpensive (relatively), and well made. Let’s see how it stacks up…

    Continue reading: Benchmade Mini-Griptillian

    Published
  • Synik vs GR1 vs CPL 24

    Let’s talk about which backpack is the best for certain things, and then get to the point: your heart wants what it wants.

    Many have been asking me to compare Tom Bihn’s new bag against the GR1 and the CPL 24 I recently reviewed, but those 1:1 comparisons can make it hard to remain in perspective of all the bags out there. So I think a better way to look at this is in the common context of use cases and what is best for those. I’ve broken this down to four categories, and let’s talk about which is best for each before we wrap up with an overall look at things. I’ve also limited this to just the Synik 22/30, CPL 24, and GR1 21/26 as those are the best backpacks on the market currently. ((Prove me wrong, seriously.))

    Continue reading: Synik vs GR1 vs CPL 24

    Published
  • Member’s Journal — 8/26/19

    That thing when you buy the grossest sounding Kolache, but then have a life changing experience eating it.

    This week: toggling Bluetooth, vibrating to keystrokes, what is harmful, a potpourri of computing notes, and 10 things about Houston.

    You must be a member to read the rest of this article.

    Published
  • Member Journal — 8/19/19

    That thing where I point out why Wirecutter has gone down hill, and more.

    This week: why I no longer trust The Wirecutter, socks for sock less shoes, my thoughts on paper and pen note taking, Keyboard Maestro 9, iOS 13 thing I love, and Gruber wakes up.

    You must be a member to read the rest of this article.

    Published